Skip to content

Introducing our new Manuscript Archivist, Katie Rojas

December 14, 2015

Katie RojasHello Top Shelfers! I’m happy to join UTSA Special Collections as the new Manuscript Archivist, and to continue the work of my predecessor, Nikki Lynn Thomas. As Manuscript Archivist, it’s my job to manage and provide access to a wide range of primary source materials related to San Antonio culture and history, including women and women’s groups, Mexican-Americans, and the Texas-Mexico border region. I also have a strong interest in digital archives and digital preservation, so I am especially excited to work with the UTSA Special Collections team in that area.

I earned my BA in Anthropology from The University of Texas at Austin, with a geographic focus on Latin America. I also have a long-standing love of the fine arts, and minored in Art History. I discovered the archives field while I was an undergraduate. I attended a combination job/graduate school fair and became intrigued after speaking with representatives from UT’s School of Information. After conducting some personal research into the field, I knew that work in archives was the career path I ultimately wanted to pursue.

Before and during graduate school, I spent a couple of years teaching high school history, which led me from Austin to San Antonio. While teaching, I enrolled in the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee School of Information Studies online program. This May, I completed my MLIS with a focus in Archives. My capstone research surveyed the digital preservation practices of archival repositories in Texas.

During graduate school I completed online cataloguing work for Dickinson State University’s Theodore Roosevelt Digital Library. I have also worked previously for the City of San Antonio’s Municipal Archives as an intern, and then as the Library Assistant, and finally as the Archivist. One of the major projects I contributed to involved working with volunteers to complete a descriptive item-level inventory of over 2,000 field survey notebooks.

I’m excited to work with the faculty, staff, and students of UTSA, and I am looking forward to being involved in the newest big project, the Southwest Voter Registration Education Project/William C. Velasquez Institute Records. Keep an eye out here on Top Shelf for new developments!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2015 9:23 am

    Reblogged this on stillness of heart.

  2. December 15, 2015 7:36 am

    Welcome to UTSA Katie!

Leave a Reply

