Skip to content

Introducing our new Head of Special Collections, Amy Rushing

March 31, 2014

If my name sounds familiar, it’s because you may remember this post from September 30, 2013, where I introduced myself as the new Digital Archivist. Well, I am pleased to announce that I am now the new Head of Special Collections. I am proud and honored to take on this role, and I am excited about shaping the direction and growth of special collections at an emerging Tier One University.

I look forward to getting acquainted with the faculty, students, staff, and researchers that are part of the UTSA community. I am also very excited about working with donors and the community in new and creative ways. Building upon our collectinheadshotg strengths, one of my goals is to ensure that Special Collections documents all aspects of the rich history of San Antonio and South Texas, including communities and groups traditionally underrepresented in the historical record. Through outreach and collaboration I want researchers in San Antonio, across Texas, and beyond to be aware of and utilize the resources in Special Collections.

I am proud of Special Collections’ accomplishments thus far; to name just a few: we have a robust and long-standing web archiving program; we have an active digitization program; we provided reference assistance to over 1500 patrons last year; we provide instruction on archival resources and research to UTSA students; and we curate quarterly exhibits to highlight our collections. All of this, of course, has been accomplished by the fantastic staff of Special Collections. I’m honored to be working with such a dedicated, hard-working crew.

If there is one thing I have learned since coming to UTSA, it is that I am more committed than ever to the goal of making our institution into a world-class teaching and research facility.

Leave a Reply

