Skip to content

Introducing our new University Archivist, Julianna Barrera-Gomez

December 30, 2013

Hello The TopShelf!  I’m quite pleased to introduce myself as the newest addition to UTSA Libraries Special Collections as the University Archivist.  I’m thrilled to be working with my new colleagues as the third person to hold this title in UTSA’s history.  My duties will build upon the work of previous University Archivists Angela McClendon Ossar and Sean Heyliger, where I’ll be leading efforts to collect, preserve, and make accessible records documenting the administrative and cultural history of our University.

I join the Special Collections team as the third member with a background in Anthropology (birds of a feather?) and like them, I succumbed to the archives bug. While completing my MSI at the University of Michigan I got to work on a number of amazing collections at the Bentley Historical Library (my favorite: I digitized records for the Polar Bear Expedition Digital Collection) and the Smithsonian Institution Archives (where I processed the electronic research legacy of Dr. Devra Kleiman).  My love for things archival goes beyond collecting and preserving records—I’m also passionate about promoting and providing access to archival collections and data.  I recently completed a fellowship at OCLC Research, where I took part in projects studying how users search for information on the web (through the JISC-funded Visitors and Residents project) and how to preserve contextual metadata with research data for reuse among academic researchers (through the IMLS-funded DIPIR project).

I’m extremely excited to be involved in managing and cultivating the already sizeable University Archives collections, which include paper records, digital collections, oral histories and web archives documenting the history of UTSA.   I’m very much looking forward to engaging with users to both grow and promote our collections.  Stay tuned for posts on how it’s going!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emeritus Professor Dr. Marian L. Martinello, President, UTSA Retired Faculty Association permalink
    December 30, 2013 7:00 pm

    Welcome to our new University Archivist, Julianna Barrera-Gomez. The UTSA Retired Faculty Association looks forward to working with you on the UTSA Legacy Oral Histories Project.

  2. January 9, 2014 1:01 pm

    Welcome to your new position, Julianna! It sounds like you will be a great asset to the University Archives and I wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

