Skip to content

Gebhardt Mexican Food Company Photos Online

September 10, 2010

by Shannon Keith, Library Assistant

In 1896, former restaurant owner Willie Gebhardt moved to San Antonio and established the Eagle Brand Chili Powder Company. The company, by then known as Gebhardt Chili Powder Company, acquired a meat license in 1911 and began producing a variety of canned Tex-Mex foods including chili and tamales. For decades, the Gebhardt Company and its plant was a San Antonio institution.

UTSA Libraries Special Collections acquired the records of the Gebhardt Company in 1989, and is currently scanning them and making them available through our digital portal. This week, we uploaded over 100 photographs from the records advertisements and photographs of workers in the Gebhardt plant. Below is a selection of these photographs. You may access the entire digital collection at digital.utsa.edu.


Gebhardt delivery truck, undated.

Gebhardt employees making masa for tamales at the Gebhardt plant, undated.

Machine labeling bottles of Eagle Brand Chili Powder, undated.

Mexican Rice, undated.
13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2014 2:41 pm

    My name is Walter Gebhardt. I live in France and I own a can with “Gebhardt’s” Refried Beans about 30 or more years old. Keep the faith! And maybe let me know how your business is running these days!

  2. mary holstun permalink
    March 13, 2014 8:02 pm

    We have been buying your enchilada sauce for over 25 years and always loved but ad of this past 6 months it had not been made the same some how the recipe has been changed and is no longer good to have it is very disappointing we no longer enjoy it we are now searching for a new brand to use. Thank you for hearing me out

  3. Kathy Lieber permalink
    April 25, 2014 12:25 am

    I agree with mary holstun. My daughter asked me what I did differently. What did ya’ll do to the sauce? It needs to change back or I need someone to tell me where to get good sauce or how to make it.

  4. Earl Martin permalink
    July 28, 2014 9:31 pm

    Rumors abound concerning stoppage of bulk Gebhardt Chili Powder, now a new one has entered the arena, stoppage of the 3oz the only size left. Rumors can ruin anything or anyone. Come on Gehardt where ever you are and straighten it out, please.Trusting in and faithful to you. 75 yrs old E.Martin

  5. Houston Sutton permalink
    March 18, 2015 11:12 am

    What ever happened to the gebhardt hot sauce ? I can’t find it anywhere

    • diana permalink
      April 9, 2016 12:08 pm

      Do they sell the hot sauce anywhere?

  6. Christen Bruce permalink
    August 19, 2015 5:32 pm

    I bought a large can of Gebhardt frijoles refried beans tonight and they were awful. The smell was disgusting and the taste was rotten! I think they were spoiled even though the expiration date showed to be june of 2017. I hope we don’t get food poison.

    • Michelle P. permalink
      September 26, 2015 7:38 pm

      I just had the same issue tonight, did you get sick?

      • Terri J permalink
        December 29, 2015 11:16 pm

        I bought a can tonight & it made me sick as soon as I opened it up & the date showed to expire in June of 2017 also. It smelled like it was dog poo.

  7. Cynthia Cohrs permalink
    June 17, 2016 1:57 pm

    I too have been using age hardy Enchilida Sauce for over 35 years + and it has changed and is not worth eating. Please advise if you are going to start making it like you used to make it!

  8. Cynthia Cohrs permalink
    June 17, 2016 1:59 pm

    I meant to say I have been using Gebhardt’s Enchilada Sauce for over 35 + years and it has changed and isn’t worth eating!

  9. brenda permalink
    October 26, 2016 4:46 pm

    WE DONT MAKE ENCHILADAS ANYMORE BECAUSE YOU CHANGED YOUR RECEIPE. CHANGE IT BACK, MY KIDS ARE TRAUMATIZED.

  10. S Henricks permalink
    July 7, 2017 10:19 am

    what ever happened to gebhardt’s barbecue sauce, my family misses it?????

Leave a Reply

