Skip to content

Shannon Keith

April 6, 2010

Greetings UTSA students, faculty, staff, and researchers. My name is Shannon Keith and I recently started as a Library Assistant II in Special Collections. I look forward to working with the wonderful staff and materials here at UTSA. Most of all, I look forward to working with you, our patrons, and to helping you find the information resources you need to succeed in your research, whether it is scholarly, professional, or personal.
I became interested in archives while working as an administrative assistant at the Massachusetts Attorney General’s Office. One of my duties was to maintain departmental records and transfer them to the state archives when they were no longer active. I realized that archives offer an invaluable service to a community, even if most people in that community never enter one, or even have a clear understanding of what they do.
I received a Master of Science in Information Studies with a concentration in archival management from the University of Texas at Austin last August. While studying in Austin, I worked at the Texas Legislative Reference Library and volunteered at the Harry Ransom Center and the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary Archives. Some of you may recognize me from my four month position as a librarian in the Research Services department at UTSA where I staffed the JPL information desk and provided library instruction to students.
In addition to staffing the Special Collections reading room at the John Peace Library, I will assist with digitizing collections, processing archival materials and other projects. I hope to see many of you in the reading room in the near future!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

