Skip to content

The Fate of the UTSA Yearbook: Questions Answered!

August 18, 2009
A couple months ago, we asked: What Ever Happened to the UTSA Yearbook? Well, thanks to the power of the Internet and the deliciously Web 2.0 world we’re living in, we actually got some answers. I received an email from Rachele Di Tullio last week explaining what happened — in the end, anyway — to the UTSA yearbook. She has graciously agreed to let me post her response on The Top Shelf.

Hi Angela,

I can tell you part of happened (or rather didn’t!) with the UTSA
yearbook. I actually worked on that 1998 book for most of 1997 and 1998–it took a long time and then publishing got stalled. We had clearance to use student ID photos in the book, then the UTPD said no. We ended up with a book no one wanted/bought and had a big debt to Taylor Publishing in 1999. We decided not to pursue doing another one since there just wasn’t any interest. Dr. Jan Tillery took over as adviser in 2000 to get the organization to be officially part of UTSA and not just a student organization. She was able to get us some recognition and the debt paid off, but I graduated that summer. As far as I know, once the debt was cleared, it just died.

[In a later email]
I don’t know if it would be of interest to you to know a bit about the technical creation of the book as well but part of the reason it took so long was that I really had no idea what I was doing! I had not been in yearbook club in high school or anything; it just seemed interesting. It was the first time the yearbook got created completely digitally so I was teaching myself desktop publishing with Pagemaker and had a very early version of a digital camera (which is why some of the pictures look so bad). I didn’t know anything about layout, graphic design or photo resolutions (like using 300dpi for printing). But it was a lot of fun and I got to use my experiences for independent study credit.

I’m so glad to hear that it ended up being a worthwhile experience, and it’s certainly a good story. Interestingly, Rachele is now pursuing her Master of Science in Information Science at the formidable University of Texas iSchool. Hmmm, I wonder if they have a yearbook?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

