Skip to content

Nikki Lynn Thomas

March 9, 2009
Nikki at Niagara Falls

I have an MSIS from The University of Texas at Austin’s School of Information and a B.A. in Anthropology from the University of South Carolina. When I first entered the iSchool, I was set on working in a public library, but that changed with my first archives class. The course, The Organization of Records Information, required a volunteer processing project at a local Austin repository. Sorting through the materials of a notable playwright at the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center was all the encouragement I needed to change the focus of my library school studies.

During graduate school, I interned at The University of Texas at Austin’s Dolph Briscoe Center for American History as the Student Archives Associate in the Archives of American Mathematics. After graduation I worked as a consultant for a small, private non-profit and volunteered at the Austin History Center. I began at UTSA in September 2007 as a temporary Manuscripts Archivist and was permanently hired as the Archives and Special Collections Department’s Manuscript Curator in September 2008.

As Manuscripts Curator, I am responsible for the department’s holdings of personal papers and organizational records. I coordinate and supervise the department’s manuscript processing efforts, including arrangement, description, MARC cataloging, and EAD/XML encoding. When necessary, I assist the Department Head in his efforts to acquire and appraise manuscript collections. I also provide reference assistance to researchers and instructional services to the UTSA community.

Leave a Reply

